Curriculum and Instruction » Curriculum and Instruction

Curriculum and Instruction

Graduates celebrating
The Curriculum and Instruction team is dedicated to ensuring quality teaching and learning through coordinated and aligned curriculum and assessment support. We strive to provide purposeful, embedded professional development, insurance of quality classroom instruction for all students and through proven instructional strategies, including the seamless integration of technology tools in ways that impact engagement and learning for all students.
 
 
 
 
The team has identified the following guiding principles to help ensure success across the district:
  • A focus on student achievement and the quality of instruction
  • Adoption of and commitment to district-wide performance standards 
  • Development and adoption of district-wide curricula and approaches to instruction 
  • Alignment of curriculum, teaching and learning materials, and assessment to relevant standards 
  • Multimeasure accountability systems and system-wide use of data to inform practice, keep the focus on results, and monitor progress
  • Investment in instructional leadership development 
  • A focus on district-wide, job-embedded professional development and support for teachers 
  • A district-wide emphasis on teamwork and professional community   
 
If our department can be of service to you to provide information regarding teaching and learning in Waxahachie ISD, please contact our team at (972) 923-4727. We are here to serve! 
Shelle Blaylock, Assistant Superintendent of Leadership and Academics
411 N. Gibson Street
Waxahachie, TX
(972) 923-4631
sblaylock@wisd.org

Meet the Team

Team Member and Programs Contact Information
Ginger Robinson
Director of Accountability/Assessment & Counseling
District Section 504 Coordinator
grobinson@wisd.org 
Lisa Mott
Director of Curriculum and Instruction
lmott@wisd.org 
Paislee Echols
Department Secretary
pechols@wisd.org 
Viana Armstrong
Coordinator of Bilingual and ESL Programs, Bilingual Spelling Bee Coordinator
varmstrong@wisd.org 
Letty Bernal
Coordinator of Federal Programs
lbernal@wisd.org 
Jill Chapman
Coordinator of Advanced Academics, UIL Academic Coordinator 
jichapman@wisd.org 
Melanie Harbour-Pope
Dyslexia Coordinator, District and County Spelling Bee Coordinator
Kay Reid
Dyslexia Therapist
Melissa Abadie
Elementary Science and STEM Coordinator, District Science Fair Coordinator
mabadie@wisd.org 
Dana James
Elementary Social Studies, Data Specialist,
WISD Transfer Committee Coordinator, Destination Imagination
djames@wisd.org
Tricia Peyrot
Elementary English Language Arts and Reading Coordinator,
Reading Recovery Site Coordinator
tpeyrot@wisd.org 
Stacee Johnson
Elementary Mathematics Coordinator
stjohnson@wisd.org 
Alison Frary
Secondary Mathematics Coordinator
afrary@wisd.org 
Andrea Kline
Secondary Social Studies Coordinator, Geography Bee Coordinator
akline@wisd.org
Theresa Smithey
Secondary Science Coordinator, District Science Fair Coordinator
tsmithey@wisd.org 
Vacant
Secondary English Language Arts and Reading Coordinator 
 
Ashley Cieri
Digital Learning Coordinator
acieri@wisd.org 
Debbie Needham
Instructional Technology Coordinator 
dneedham@wisd.org 
Sheri Bonner
PEIMS Coordinator/Skyward
sbonner@wisd.org 
Jana Drury
PEIMS Coordinator/State Submissions
jdrury@wisd.org