Curriculum & Instruction

Curriculum and Instruction outside sign
 
 

The Curriculum and Instruction team is dedicated to ensuring quality teaching and learning through a coordinated and aligned curriculum and assessment support. We strive to provide purposeful, embedded professional development, insurance of quality classroom instruction for all students and proven instructional strategies, including the seamless integration of technology tools in ways that impact engagement and learning for all students.

 

The team has identified the following guiding principles to help ensure success across the district:

  • A focus on student achievement and the quality of instruction
  • Adoption of and commitment to district-wide performance standards 
  • Development and adoption of district-wide curricula and approaches to instruction 
  • Alignment of curriculum, teaching and learning materials, and assessment to relevant standards 
  • Multi measure accountability systems and system-wide use of data to inform practice, keep the focus on results, and monitor progress
  • Investment in instructional leadership development 
  • A focus on district-wide, job-embedded professional development and support for teachers 
  • A district-wide emphasis on teamwork and professional community   

Dr. Susan Holt

Executive Director of Curriculum & Instruction | Planning & Development

sholt@wisd.org

 

Ginger Robinson

Director of Instructional Support & Counseling Services | Section 504 Coordinator

grobinson@wisd.org

 

Dawn Hilburn

Director of Assessment & Accountability

dhilburn@wisd.org

 

Mark Bosher

Director of Grants Management

mbosher@wisd.org

 

Jamilla Thomas

Director of Advanced Academics

jthomas@wisd.org

 

Lynda Solis

Director of Bilingual & ESL Programs | Bilingual Spelling Bee Coordinator

lsolis@wisd.org

 

Letty Bernal

Coordinator of State & Federal Programs

lbernal@wisd.org

 

Jill Chapman

Coordinator of Advanced Academics

jichapman@wisd.org

 

Angela Morgan

Advanced Academics Specialist

amorgan@wisd.org

 

Joy Cook

Advanced Academics Specialist

jcook@wisd.org

 

Mary Crook

Secretary to Advanced Academics

mcrook@wisd.org

 

Melissa Abadie

Elementary Science & STEM Coordinator | District Science Fair | STEM Expo

mabadie@wisd.org

 

Dana James

Elementary Social Studies | Data Specialist | Destination Imagination

djames@wisd.org

 

Tricia Peyrot

Elementary English Language Arts & Reading Coordinator | Reading Recovery Site Coordinator | County Spelling Bee Coordinator

tpeyrot@wisd.org

 

Stacee Johnson

Elementary Mathematics Coordinator

stjohnson@wisd.org

 

Alison Frary

Secondary Mathematics Coordinator

afrary@wisd.org

 

Andrea Kline

Secondary Social Studies Coordinator | Geography Bee Coordinator

akline@wisd.org

 

Theresa Smithey

Secondary Science Coordinator | District Science Fair Coordinator

tsmithey@wisd.org

 

Glenda Anderson

Secondary English Language Arts & Reading Coordinator

ganderson@wisd.org

 

Ashley Cieri

Digital Learning Coordinator

acieri@wisd.org

 

Debbie Needham

Instructional Technology Coordinator

dneedham@wisd.org

 

Paislee Echols

Department Secretary

pechols@wisd.org

 

Lisa Pearrow

Department Receptionist

lpearrow@wisd.org

If our department can be of service to provide information regarding teaching and learning in Waxahachie ISD, please contact our team.  We are here to serve! 

 

Curriculum & Instruction Department

(972) 923-4727 • 51 Northgate Drive • Waxahachie, TX 75165